Can’t buy me love!

When I first got hooked on Pinterest, one of my favorite things about the site was that I could have a “secret” board. This allowed me search all of the wedding pins, re-pin my favorites, and never worry about anyone thinking I was crazy for having a wedding board even though I wasn’t planning a wedding. (My guess is that if most single/dating women are honest, they’ll admit to having secret wedding boards too!)

The reason I bring up my no-longer-a-secret wedding board is to bring up the pins I never paid attention to before this last month. The “How to Have a Wedding Under $5,000” and “Bride on a Budget” links never grabbed my attention…until recently. Before I started looking at wedding dresses, venues, music, and photographers, there is no one in the world that could have convinced me how high the cost of getting married was. Now, however, I can’t get enough of all the former brides’ advice on how to do your own décor, or cut down on food and alcohol expenses, or even how to make your own invitations.

At the end of last year, Wes helped me make one of the biggest…and best…decisions of my life. January 4, 2013 was going to be my last day of full-time work, and I was going to begin the last year of school necessary to earn my degree. There hasn’t been a single day since then that I’ve regretted my decision, but over the last few weeks, I have mentioned several times that I wish I had the money now, for our wedding, that I had a year ago. It has been the first time in my life I’ve ever understood why it is that soon-to-be married couples give up on their lifelong wedding dreams and go to the courthouse for a simple (inexpensive) ceremony.

Last week, to cure one of my emotional breakdowns, Wes got right in my face, put his hands on my shoulders, and told me to listen to what he had to say. For the next few minutes, Wes convinced me that the type of food we serve at our wedding will not matter to our guests, and that I will look beautiful, no matter how much we will need to save on my dress, and that we will cherish the pictures taken of our special day, even if they aren’t taken by the best photographer Asheville has to offer. Finally, Wes said, the most important thing to remember is this: At the end of the day, if we’ve spent one hundred dollars or ten thousand dollars, or if we head off to a honeymoon or have to wait until next year, we will spend our first night together as husband and wife. And God willing, Wes and I will have thousands of those nights to look forward to.

My determined fiancée has to remind me almost daily not to get stressed out about all the expenses we will be facing in order to have the wedding of our dreams, and also that the purpose of our wedding day is to celebrate each other and the love that we plan to share for the rest of our lives. Weddings are a lot more expensive than I ever knew, but I get to write my own vows for free. On December 15th, I get to tell our friends and family why and how much I love Wes, and exchange rings, and be presented as Mrs. Berry. As for the rest of it, with the help of Pinterest, I will continue to tirelessly research how to provide the most entertaining evening possible for my guests.

I am so excited to celebrate our special day with you all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

