What’s the date?

BooneWinterlove-4seasons

While I want this blog to chronicle my experiences as a bride-to-be, I want to be sure that I am not offering any advice. I am an expert on nothing, and I do not pretend to be. But, with that being said, I want to spend a few minutes writing about the one question that EVERY SINGLE WOMAN will be asked immediately after announcing her engagement:

What’s the date?

Have you picked out a date yet?

When’s the big day?

These are only three variations of the question that I have been asked countless times in the last week, and one to which I have no answer yet. Please know this is neither a rant nor a complaint. In fact, just last week, a dear friend of mine got engaged (two days before me!), and after the excited congratulatory messages I sent her, the very first question I asked was, “do you have any ideas for date yet?” She, unlike I, actually had an answer! I am learning quickly, however, that the very first conversation a couple should have after getting engaged deals with possible wedding dates.

I’ll give you all a few insights on our potential dates:

I love autumn. Anyone and everyone that has spent any significant amount of time with me can pick up on that fact pretty quickly. The town I live in displays a glorious multitude of colors and smells in the fall, which makes Boone an ideal place for a fall wedding. Unfortunately, the glorious display usually lasts no longer than just a few short days before the cold, blustery winter season rushes in. Also, in case you’re all unaware of where we are in the year, it’s June. Fall is in three months. Since I have limited exposure to wedding planning AND because I’m in school full time until December, the thought of getting everything together in such short time makes my heart start racing. Next fall is out of the question too because I want to be married to Wes yesterday. Next fall is too long to wait!

Our second option is immediately after I graduate, and there is only one potential disadvantage to this: see above. Remember when I mentioned the cold, blustery winter season? I was being kind. The snowy winter days in Boone can hurt your feelings, and I don’t want to worry about my Phoenix and Tucson families never forgiving me for freezing them to death. On the flipside though, I love the winter, and snow. One of my alltime favorite memories is being in the back seat of my Grampy’s car as he and Nana drove me around Lake Tahoe when the mountains were covered in snow. There are no words that can express the beauty we observed that day, which is what made me fall even more in love with snow-covered mountains. My poor sister will disagree, but I simply can’t help it.

Our third and final option is May 2014. If we don’t get married in December, I want to wait until warmer weather. Again, in Boone, there are more cool/cold days than warm, so I feel as though late May would be our first feasible option for an outdoor wedding. There really are no disadvantages to this possible date, other than the fact that it’s almost a year away! I’m ready to start my life with this man, and would like that to happen sooner rather than later.

It has been an entire week since I agreed to marry Wes, so maybe I am behind on choosing a date. One great thing about having a blog, however, is to beg and plead with my readers to offer feedback!

Please leave comments below… 🙂

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s the date?

  1. I could not agree with you more…”When is the big day? Do you have a date?” Wait til you have a baby, the first thing out of their mouth will be “So when will you be having your next one?” I say you plan your wedding according to how YOU want to plan it. I can promise you that you will not be able to please everyone…hello I am family and can say that with FULL confidence. If you want a fall wedding…you can have a fall wedding this year 🙂 Remember it is about you and Wes so you guys do what feels right in your hearts and minds. I CAN’T WAIT!!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

