Becoming a Berry – week 1

DSC_2503

DSC_2638

My fiancée is the biggest advocate…and critic…of my writing. And when I say critic, I don’t mean that he gives me negative feedback. His “criticism” comes in the form of reminding me how long it takes me to get started, but also comes with the constant reminder that once I begin writing, I can do no wrong. As I have struggled with starting a blog, I kept hearing Wes’s words over and over in my mind until I made them a mantra. I CAN write well. I do have the right things to say. I just simply have to say them.

So, as I will in probably every post I have from here on out, I want this introduction to my blog to not be about my writing (or challenges of starting my blog), or even the results of the first week of my engagement (which will be the underlying theme of all my posts), but instead to be about gratitude. Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.” When I think back over this last week, especially to last Sunday (when Wes proposed), there isn’t one memory that doesn’t bring tears to my eyes. I knew a proposal was coming, but I didn’t know when. I knew Wes would blow me away with his plans to present me a ring, but I could have never imagined how magical the night would be. My family and friends, near and far, showed us so much love and encouragement in a night that I will never be able to go a few hours without remembering. It was a fairytale. Our love is a fairytale! And I am so excited to be sharing our upcoming story of forever with the world.

To everyone reading this, my gratitude starts with you. I am humble (and smart) enough to believe that what I have to say has no impact on the life of anyone I know. However, I want to say thank you to those that will support my love of writing, and humor me into thinking what I will say is read-worthy. It’s a safe assumption that each of you played a major role in our engagement last week; more importantly, however, you’ve played a major role in my LIFE. I am in a euphoric state of engaged bliss, as you may all be well aware, but do not let that diminish my love for all of you, and my gratitude for the place you have in my life and in my heart.

There is no date set. We don’t know where we will have it. I haven’t officially asked anyone to be my bridesmaid yet, so I hope they say yes! We are close to choosing colors, but not certain yet. There are so many fun details that we have yet to focus on, but I do know this: I am absolutely the luckiest woman in the world for the chance to plan a life with Wesley Berry. I have the best family and friends to rely on for help and support. And I cannot wait to share the steps we take along the way with all of you that I love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Becoming a Berry – week 1

  1. beautiful!!! you leave me in tears(happy ones of course) I love you

Leave a Reply

